Past Members

Dr. George Crabtree

Professor of Physics, Distinguished Fellow of Argonne National Laboratory, and Director, Joint Center for Energy Storage Research

George Crabtree is Professor of Physics at the University of Illinois-Chicago, Distinguished Fellow of Argonne National Laboratory and Director of the Joint Center for Energy Storage Research (JCESR). His research interests include materials science, sustainable energy, nanoscale superconductors and magnets, vortex matter in superconductors, and highly correlated electrons in metals. He has led workshops for the Department of Energy (DOE) on next-generation energy storage, hydrogen, solar energy, superconductivity, and materials under extreme environments, and co-chaired the Undersecretary of Energy’s assessment of DOE’s Applied Energy Programs. He has testified before the U.S. Congress on the hydrogen economy, meeting sustainable energy challenges, and energy storage.

Dr. Crabtree has won numerous awards including the Kammerlingh Onnes Prize, U.S. DOE Award for Outstanding Scientific Accomplishment in Solid State Physics and an R&D 100 Award. He is a Fellow of the American Physical Society, a charter member of ISI’s

Dr. R. Stanley Williams

Adjunct Professor, UCLA Chemistry and Biochemistry

R. Stanley Williams is a Hewlett Packard Enterprise Senior Fellow and Senior Vice President. His primary scientific research has been in the areas of solid-state chemistry and physics, and their application to technology. More recently, he has been focused on the dynamical properties of electrons, ions and photons in nanostructures and their applications for computation and cognition. In 2008, a team of researchers he led announced that they had built and demonstrated the first intentional memristor, the fourth fundamental electronic circuit element predicted by Prof. Leon Chua in 1971.

Dr. Williams has received widespread recognition for business, scientific and academic achievement, including being named one of the top 10 visionaries in the field of electronics by EETimes, the 2014 IEEE Outstanding Engineering Manager Award, the 2009 EETimes Innovator of the Year ACE Award, the 2007 Glenn T. Seaborg Medal for contributions to Chemistry, the 50th Anniversary Laureate Lecturer on Electrical and Optical Materials for the TMS, the 2004 Herman Bloch Medal for Industrial Research, the inaugural Scientific American 50 Top Technology leaders in 2002, and the 2000 Julius Springer Award for Applied Physics. He was a co-organizer and co-editor of the workshop and book “Vision for Nanotechnology in the 21st Century”, respectively, that led to the establishment of the U. S. National Nanotechnology Initiative in 2000.